02 Jan 2020


Eleven more players - Jerry Teme, Woods Kawage, Tom Moide, Israel Steven, Gilmo Paul, Solomon Pukari, Allan Simbiri, Messac Wallen, Stanley Olo, Benji Kot and Saki Peter – have been released from the SP Hunters pre-season training squad while one, Dilbert Isaac still nursing an injury, will undergo further medical tests to prove his fitness.

SP PNG Hunters Coach Mathew Church said he had spoken to the 11 players to just to keep working hard and take their opportunity when it comes along. He said the four Test players – Stanton Albert, Terry Wapi, Enock Maki and Stanford Talita – will join the squad when training resumes on Monday January 6, 2020.

The 30 players to resume training on Monday January 6, 2020 are:

1. Junior Rau

2. Stanton Albert

3. Baundo Aba

4. Illa Alu

5. Enock Maki

6. Patrick Morea

7. Ase Boas

8. Gairo Kapana

9. Epel Kapinias

10. Shane Haro

11. Kevin Appo

12. Junior Rop

13. Joe Frank

14. Brendan Nima

15. Nick Hasu

16. Justin Yoka

17. Roy Ellison

18. Terry Wapi

19. Smith Siviri

20. Sailas Gahuna

21. Steven Bruno

22. Emmanuel Waine

23. Francis Takai

24. Stanford Talita

25. Mark Piti

26. Charlie Simon

27. Joe Joshua

28. Rhadley Brawa

29. Casey Dickson

30. Brendon Gotuno 

The SP Hunters have two trial matches scheduled for next month. The first is against Central Queensland Capras in Port Moresby on February 22, 2020. This game will be followed by the NRL ‘trial’ between Cronulla Sharks and Canterbury Bulldogs. The second SP Hunters ‘trial’ will be against Northern Pride in Cairns the following week on February 29, 2020. SP Hunters take on South Logan Magpies in Brisbane in the opening round of the 2020 Intrust Super Cup season on Sunday March 15, 2020.