22 Nov 2019


Four clubs – Kui Raiders of Mt Hagen RL, Lae Pirates of Lae RL, Takubar Brothers of Kokopo City RL and Kama Coffee Brothers of Port Moresby RL – will represent the Highlands,
Northern, NGI and Southern Confederates respectively at the 2019 National Rugby League Club Championships in Lae, Morobe Province.

PNGRFL Chairman Sandis Tsaka said the four clubs will vie for the National Club Championships title from November 28 to 30, 2019 at the Lae Rugby League ground.

“Congratulations to the four clubs following elimination games in the respective Confederates to come out winners,” Tsaka said. “You are the premier club and will be representing your Confederates for the National Club Champions tag.”

Tsaka said the draws will be done over the weekend and the clubs will be advised in due course.

“However I can advise that the format will see each club play two games each on Thursday November 28,” he said.

Tsaka said the clubs will have a recovery day on Friday November 29.

“On Saturday November 30, we’ll have the play off for 3rd spot followed by the Grand Final to determine the 2019 National Club Champion,” Tsaka said.

The Chairman reminded clubs that only one Digicel Cup, SP Hunter or PNG Kumul player is eligible to play for the club. “He must be a registered player of that League,” Tsaka added.

He said that only three players who are not from the club are allowed to play for the premier Confederate club.

“Let’s not abuse the player eligibility rules,” Tsaka said. “Let’s expose the untapped rugby league talent at the club levels.”

The Chairman has urged the four premier Confederate clubs to submit names of 21 players and three Officials to Toksy Nema on email: tnema@pngrfl.org.pg; at the PNGRFL Headquarters by Friday November 22, 2019. He can also be contacted on Mob: 70906977.

“Let’s complete our domestic rugby league calendar on a high note with the National Club Championships in Lae next week,” Tsaka said.