20 Feb 2019


Forty two (42) Leagues from around PNG are eligible to attend the 6th Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League (PNGRFL) Annual General Meeting (AGM) to be held on February 26, 2019 in Lae, Morobe Province.

 PNGRFL Chief Executive Officer Reatau Rau said the 42 leagues comprising of 18 from Southern, five from New Guinea Islands, 12 from Highlands and seven from Northern Confederates have met all affiliation criteria for 2018 and complied with the PNGRFL constitutional requirements.

 “The 42 leagues have fulfilled and met all constitutional requirements and their Presidents are qualified and eligible to attend the AGM set for Tuesday February 26, 2019 at 8.00am at the Lae International Hotel in Morobe Province,” Rau said.

 He said apart from the normal order of business where the Annual Reports including the audited finance report will be presented, a general meeting will follow to discuss other league matters.

 The affiliated leagues to attend are as follows: Southern – Port Moresby (PRL), Moresby South, POM Suburban, Motu Koita, Rigo, Kiunga, Popondetta, Tei Kariko (Gulf), Kerema, Central Province Premier League (CPPL), Alotau, Koiari, Tabubil, Hiri West, Hiri East, Tauruba, Ihu and UPNG.  New Guinea Islands –  Kavieng, Rabaul, Gazelle, Kokopo City and Kimbe. Highlands – Goroka, Hagen, Kundiawa, Mendi, Wabag, Nondugl, Pangia, Porgera, Banz, Minj, Kimil and Kudjip.  Northern – Wewak, Maprik, Madang, Walium, Ramu, Kainantu and Lae. 

 Rau said the AGM will discuss and report on all matters and events held in 2018. “We will deal with reports and matters that happened in 2018,” he said. 

 Rau added the PNGRFL will pay the presidents / delegates return travel and accommodation costs. “For those Confederates and affiliates travelling by air, the presidents are asked to meet at a certain location from where the PNGRFL will pay the fares,” Rau said. “NGI presidents will meet at Kimbe, Southern presidents will assemble in Port Moresby while the Wewak and Maprik presidents will fly out of Wewak.”

He said Confederates will be responsible for getting their presidents to these locations. “PNGRFL will pay the return air fares from Kimbe, Port Moresby and Wewak,” he stressed. “Highlands and the other Northern Confederates presidents will travel by road into Lae,” Rau said.  

 He added meals and other incidental costs will be the responsibility of respective Confederates. “PNGRFL will pay for accommodation only,” Rau said.

 He said all league presidents or their nominated delegate are scheduled to travel into Lae by the evening of Monday February 25th and leave on Wednesday morning February 27th, 2019.