03 Jan 2019


Ten more players have been released leaving 32 to resume pre- season training on Monday January 7, 2019.

SP Hunters coach Michael Marum said the 32 players will return to camp on Sunday in Port Moresby.

“In consultation with the coaching staff, we are now trimming the squad to those players who can fill the positions and sustain a long season,” Marum said.

To those players that have been released, Marum said: “We have given them programs to continue training and have advised them on areas they need to improve on. “We hope that they share what they have experienced in the Hunters program with their respective clubs and continue to improve and better their standards,” he said.

The 32 man squad to resume training on Monday January 7, 2019 (in alphabetical order) are:

1. Adex Wera 2. Baundo Aba 3. Bland Abavu 4. Brendan Nima 5. Butler Morris 6. Charlie Simon 7. Daniel Tapol 8. Dilbert Isaac 9. Enock Maki 10. Epel Kapinias 11. Gairo Kapana 12. Ila Alu 13. Jack Oii 14. Jerry Teme 15. Joe Frank 16. Joe Joshua 17. Jordon Pat 18. Junior Rau 19. Junior Rop 20. Justin Yoka 21. Kevin Appo 22. McKenzie Yei 23. Moses Meninga 24. Nick Hasu 25. Patrick Morea 26. Rex Kaupa 27. Sani Wabo 28. Shane Haro 29. Stanton Albert 30. Wawa Paul 31. William Mone 32. Woods Kawage.

The final squad of 25 or 26 for the 2019 ISC competition is expected to be named before the end of the month.

The 10 players released are:

1. Benton Leme 2. Emmanuel Waine 3. Joshua Nani 4. Isaac Patrick 5. Moses Okopila 6. Damien Herod 7. Eddie Daffa 8. Gilmo Paul 9. Kitron Laka 10. Leeroy Kamau.